PDA

View Full Version : Moto Guzzi Centauro?

The Honest Man
17.08.2012, 06:18 PM
Folks I was at the Scottish Italian car and bike day last week. And while there were some stunning Dukes ,my eyes wandered over a Guzzi Centauro in Black,it was a W reg and to be honest I loved the look of it. Can anyone tell me what they are like to ride,run,live with etc,prices what to look for etc. I have seen one down south but have no idea as to value etc,
Is it a viable option to Ducati?
Cheers Paul:D

monster_998
17.08.2012, 06:38 PM
I have no experience of the Centauro itself but in general terms the Guzzis do not have great build quality - I saw a '02 Nevada turn reddish-brown in less an 12 months and a V11 Le Mans that needed 3 gearboxes in the first 1000 milles......

IMO, they are nice to look at, but I wouldn't want to know one. Sorry, I know that's not what you wanted to hear.

The Honest Man
17.08.2012, 06:50 PM
Thanks mate,maybe not but truths good!:D

gordj65
17.08.2012, 08:07 PM
recently, since being taken over by Piaggio, theyre quality and design has risen, parts supply can still be a bit problimatical especially for older models, but they are improving. Must admit I thought a couple of them looked pretty good as well

The Honest Man
17.08.2012, 08:39 PM
Thanks mate,yes they were nice and quirky! The Nero whatever it was was stunning! The Centauro just looked like an Italian V rod???

Cateran
17.08.2012, 09:00 PM
I've a bit of a soft spot for Guzzis, they're a bit different and in a world of Guzzis, the Centauro is a bit different. Designed along similiar thoughts to a Monster: Lower gearing; No fairing etc. (but a bit heavy compared to Ducs) It has 4 valve heads which means it breathes well. It is Italian and Guzzi has had its problems over the years but a well kept one will run high mileages. I think a Griso is a similiar but better buy.

deputydawg
17.08.2012, 11:29 PM