PDA

View Full Version : Sachse Ignition

fernsteve
15.08.2018, 06:49 PM
I posted earlier that I fitted this ignition on to 750GT and got the bike running - it started no bother but was only running on the horizontal cylinder. I had another bike to work on (and get sold) so put it to one side. I figured a loose wire, duff coil/plug or something and would fix later.

I just got back to it now and I have refitted the Sachse from scratch making sure I fitted everything by the book - even fitted new coils I had, plugs, leads etc - but it is the same thing. Only firing on the horizontal cylinder.

Is there a mistake in the instructions, should it be timed on vertical cylinder rather than horizontal?

Steve

Derek
15.08.2018, 08:50 PM
I have no knowledge of the Sachse ignition but on the bevels TDC on the vertical cylinder is the timing position.

81mhr900ss
01.07.2019, 10:47 PM
Way late joining in on this but just in case someone else comes looking for Sachse advice, I installed my Sachse system on an 81 MHR about a month ago so have some observations/comments to share.

Before doing the full installation, it's possible to test the spark delivery equipment; the Sachse unit has a small dial on it. When set to the "0" position and powered, grounded and connected to the two coils, and with the plugs removed but connected to the caps and grounded to the motor, there should be continuous sparking on both plugs; this tests the coils, HT leads and plugs. It's a good idea to do this first in case there's an issue with the new Sachse unit.

The firing sequence on the bevel twins starts with the front "orizontale" or "O" cylinder followed by the rear, "verticale" or "V" cylinder. I use "V" and "O" because this is original Ducati nomenclature. What Derek is referring to is the cam timing set-up; making all the bevel gear dots align when putting the motor back together and as he notes, the rear, vertical cylinder is set at TDC with all the dots aligned.