+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 111

Thread: Ducati Diagnostic Software - FREE

  1. #21
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541
    As Derek says, after 1/8 the Ducatidiag Forum will cease.

    All is not lost though for the home mechanic. Have a look at http://www.von-der-salierburg.de/download/GuzziDiag/

    Although developed for Moto Guzzi v.0.35 will work with Ducatis using the Magneti Marelli IAW5* family of ECU's (like your 1198) and also the earlier bikes using the 15m etc. The Writer software is basic and requires .bin files to work. It will not remove immos.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    03.08.2013
    Location
    Sofia
    Ducati models
    1198
    Posts
    4
    Hi Chris,

    I tried using GuzziDiag v.0.36 with a 1098 2007 with a DP Race ECU. It could not connect to the bike.

    Could you tell me which Moto Guzzi bike model do you select from the drop-down menu in GuzziDiag to have it connect to the Ducati?

    I verified the ECU is from the IAW5AM* family so it should work.

    Thanks

  3. #23
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541
    I used the Breva 1100 setting for my 1198S. Make sure you select the correct com port as well. I have got it to work with both FTDI and Winchiphead based leads.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to chrisw For This Useful Post:


  5. #24
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    I couldn't get the Guzzi Diag to connect to the P7 ECU in my 907ie. I can't remember which Guzzi bike I set it to but it was one of those that used a P7. If I could get the netbook to load the FTDI drivers I might have more success but despite the KKL lead coming with FTDI drivers I can't get it to run with anything other than the WN driver.
    I haven't had a chance to try it on my son's 1098 and I no longer have the ST4s to play with.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  6. #25
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541
    Derek

    Without having the lead plugged in

    Run this uninstall untility http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Util...aller_v1.4.zip

    Then re-run the setup program http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/CDM/CDM20830_Setup.exe

    Then connect the lead to a USB port

    Check the lead settings against those here http://www.von-der-salierburg.de/download/GuzziDiag/

  7. #26
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    Thanks Chris I'll give that a bash.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  8. #27
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    No luck. Running the uninstaller just gives me the message "Invalid arguments"

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  9. #28
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541
    Run CDMuninstallerGUI.exe

    Instructions http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Util...UI_Readme.html

  10. #29
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    No, I tried that too but just get the "This device could not be found on the system" message. Annoyingly, I also have a USB to serial adaptor that used to work with the FTDI driver but it will only load the winchip one too. It looks like I will have to uninstall them manually - if I can.
    I'm a Mac user and have been for about twenty five years. I dislike Windows but for some things there is no option.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  11. #30
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541
    What OS are you running?

    Definitely FTDI and not Winchiphead?

    You could try this older version of the driver http://www.can232.com/download/CDM_2.08.24_CANUSB.zip

  12. #31
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    NT sp3. I think I have that download already.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  13. #32
    Join Date
    15.07.2006
    Location
    Glenrothes
    Ducati models
    2000 ST4 1997 ST2 900GTS
    Other bikes
    2001 monster metallic 900ie 1957 650 Triton
    Posts
    1,819
    Derek is this site any good for downloads MV iaw 16m !

    http://photo-it.com/diagnostic/

    oops sorry looking for a donation to get password
    from
    http://www.mvagusta.net/forum/showth...t=37545&page=5

    Just sent a email to ask about using and getting access
    Last edited by cp14bob; 05.08.2013 at 09:48 PM.

  14. #33
    Join Date
    26.12.2005
    Location
    West Yorks
    Ducati models
    999 Mono/1198S
    Posts
    541

  15. #34
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    Ah well that figures, I was previously using a laptop with Windows 7 but swapped with my daughter for her netbook because it was convenient for me and she needed the bigger screen. Now I've got to go to the trouble of upgrading the netbook to 7 with only a USB port. I won't be in a hurry
    Thanks for your help Chris.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  16. #35
    Join Date
    15.07.2006
    Location
    Glenrothes
    Ducati models
    2000 ST4 1997 ST2 900GTS
    Other bikes
    2001 monster metallic 900ie 1957 650 Triton
    Posts
    1,819
    Got a reply for access to MV IAW 16M software all now go
    PM sent to Derek
    http://photo-it.com/diagnostic

  17. #36
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Derek View Post
    NT sp3. I think I have that download already.
    I was havering it's running Windows XP sp3 and that is supposed to be supported, so I don't know what's going on.

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  18. #37
    Join Date
    07.08.2013
    Location
    Srilanka
    Ducati models
    1098
    Posts
    3
    Now that Ducatidiag is not supported anymore there's no way to obtain the free license required to use it.

    Having in mind the license has always been free I decided to write a patch which drops the need for license and allows bikers to still use the latest ducatidiag version.

    Here's the link to it: https://app.box.com/s/qtd4h2uij40c3zn9bj8c. It's a ZIP file which contains ducatidiag24c_nolicense_patch.exe.

    When you run the executable it will prompt you for the patch to ducatidiag24c.exe (usually located at C:\Program Files\Ducatidiag). After this it is going to patch it and allow it to work with any ECU without the need of a license file. Please make sure you make a backup copy of your original ducatidiag24c.exe - just in case any error is encoutered during the patch process.

    I tested this on 1198 with race DP ECU and it works like a charm. Let me know if you experience any issues.

    P.S. As with any downloaded file from the Internet I advise you to always scan the file for viruses. It's a genuine patch but you should always do this to be safe.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to ducatiguru For This Useful Post:


  20. #38
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisw View Post
    Derek

    Without having the lead plugged in

    Run this uninstall untility http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Util...aller_v1.4.zip

    Then re-run the setup program http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/CDM/CDM20830_Setup.exe

    Then connect the lead to a USB port
    I've done the above and the FDTI files are definitely installed but when I plug the lead back in it still has the Winchiphead driver. Using the Device Manager to re-install the driver will only allow the Winchip. How do I get rid of it?

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

  21. #39
    Join Date
    03.08.2013
    Location
    Sofia
    Ducati models
    1198
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Derek View Post
    I've done the above and the FDTI files are definitely installed but when I plug the lead back in it still has the Winchiphead driver. Using the Device Manager to re-install the driver will only allow the Winchip. How do I get rid of it?
    With the USB cable plugged in go to Device Manager and select the port. Chose to update the driver and instruct the wizard to let you chose the best driver (i.e. do not select the automatic option). Then you will have the chance to select the correct one.

  22. #40
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    Supersport 939, 907ie
    Other bikes
    Pantah 500SL, Scrambler Classic
    Posts
    8,744
    Quote Originally Posted by snowman View Post
    With the USB cable plugged in go to Device Manager and select the port. Chose to update the driver and instruct the wizard to let you chose the best driver (i.e. do not select the automatic option). Then you will have the chance to select the correct one.
    No it doesn't. I get the option to "Install from a list or specified location" which I select but when I click Next I get the option to "Search for the best driver in these locations" with further options to search removable media or browse for a location, or "Don't search I will choose the driver to install".
    If I select to choose the driver there is only one option "USB SERIAL CH340" which ends the operation still with the whc.cn driver loaded. At no point do I see any FTDI or anything else listed

    Old enough to know better, young enough not to care

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Chizbo is Free. Chizbo is free.
    By Chiz in forum Ducati Chat
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 05.09.2009, 08:42 AM
  2. Interest free deals
    By Gizmo in forum "Craic"
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13.12.2008, 12:24 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07.05.2008, 07:17 PM
  4. Trackdays
    By MartinH in forum Trackdays
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15.09.2007, 12:48 PM
  5. Ducati Diagnostic Scan-Tool Software
    By AndySPS in forum Technical, Problems, Tips and tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18.05.2006, 07:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts