+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: 96519308B ECU & full Zard system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19

    Default 96519308B ECU & full Zard system

    Hi all
    Looking for some help here.
    Dealer has just fitted a full Zard topgun exhaust system & 96519308B ECU to my Hypermotard.
    He informs me that a fault code will be indicated.
    I believe the ECU is for a 2-1-2 system.
    Mechanic is reluctant to turn on ignition till he finds out whether the bike will run ok with a fault indicated, once turned on the ECU will code to the bike.
    What I am hoping to find out from someone here is, with this exhaust & ECU combo and a fault code showing will the bike run ok.
    Not bothered about a fault showing as long as the bike runs ok and doesnt cause any damage etc.
    Cheers
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    08.02.2008
    Location
    euphoria or on a DSV
    Ducati models
    does a settee count ?
    Posts
    1,768
    cant remember the thread but this was covered on ducati.ms if u search there u should get the answer
    OH s**t did i say that out loud?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    16.12.2005
    Location
    The KINGDOM OF FIFE
    Ducati models
    D16RR, SF S
    Posts
    8,045
    Does he know what fault code will be indicated and what it refers to?

    When I had my Hyper, I initially put the slip on termi's on (with ecu) but still got the fault code for the flappy valve exhaust servo doo-dah since it was removed and the motor disconnected.

    It wasn't until I bought the full systems intermediate pipe that came with another ecu and an extra plug bit for the servo plug that the fault code vanished.

    The bike did run fine when it displayed the fault code.

    It is worth noting, though, that I never had any Zard bits. It was all Termigoonie stuff on mine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Not sure which fault code will be indicated. Ignition has not been turned on yet.

    Done loads of searching everywhere, there is a fair bit on this topic with Zard setup. From what I can see from other forums it should run ok but cant get a definitive answer.

    I'm hoping that it will be ok. If run and ECU is coded to bike and it doesnt run good another ECU will be needed.

    Came across this which would indicate I could have bought the wrong ECU.
    1) Stock
    2) Slip-on = 8% more fuel, no O2 sensor = 96519308B 2-1-2
    3) Full system = 8% more fuel, no O2 sensor, no exhaust valve 96518708B
    4) Full sys w Cams = 18% more fuel, no O2 sensor or valve = 96519208B

    I think the latter 2 ECU's come with the plug you mention.

    Fingers crossed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Just contacted shop with some info that I got from the Ducati MS forum.
    They have run bike up on bench and are just about to road test etc.
    Info I got on forum suggests that all will be ok and bike will run fine.
    I will update and post some pics when I know more.
    Cheers
    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19

    Smile 96519308B ECU & full Zard system

    All now sorted.
    Just picked bike up from shop, looks good and sounds fantastic.
    Rain here today so no chance to test performance.
    Clocks ar now reading kmh as opposed to mph, dealer waiting on new software.
    Away to claen all the road salt off now.
    Pics and write up in near future hopefully.
    Cheers
    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    26.02.2006
    Location
    Harrogate
    Ducati models
    M600
    Posts
    6,905
    Is there a way of changing the kph to mph on the clock menu system?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Dont think theres a way to change kn to mph on the menu system.
    If I am wrong and someone tells me otherwise then great.
    Sure I have seen this facility on other bikes I have owned.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    MTS1200 ABS, 907ie
    Posts
    6,610
    It can be set on the other models with a digital dash so I'd be surprised if you can't do it on the Hyper as well.
    The procedure is something like - Hold down button 1 while turning the key to ON. Cycle through, US, UK and EU settings with button 2. Hold button 1 in for 5 secs to save to memory.

    I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me.
    Hunter S. Thompson

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Derek For This Useful Post:


  11. #10
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Derek
    I hope thats the case, will have a look at the manual.
    Cheers
    John

  12. #11
    Join Date
    08.02.2008
    Location
    euphoria or on a DSV
    Ducati models
    does a settee count ?
    Posts
    1,768
    http://www.ducati.ms/forums/showthread.php?t=50549 this gives u the exact way to do it ...derek spot on pal
    OH s**t did i say that out loud?

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to 69jme69 For This Useful Post:


  14. #12
    Join Date
    19.12.2005
    Location
    Forfar, Angus
    Ducati models
    MTS1200 ABS, 907ie
    Posts
    6,610
    Good find there Jamie.
    I'd seen the other stuff but I didn't know about the SET INDIC function to enable LED rear indicators.

    I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me.
    Hunter S. Thompson

  15. #13
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Outstanding Jamie
    I'm off to try it right now.
    Cheers
    John

  16. #14
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Sorted, its now reading in mph, brilliant.
    There was no UK option so used one that displayed En, that did the trick.
    Cant believe how simple that was, also cant believe the dealer couldnt do it and told me they would require new software. Charged me 357 to fit air filter and collectors and tune.

    Thanks a million guys

  17. #15
    Join Date
    08.02.2008
    Location
    euphoria or on a DSV
    Ducati models
    does a settee count ?
    Posts
    1,768
    if you dig deeper into the ms forum theres also speculation about different power settings for different countries...ie california is crap and australia is good ..dunno how much truth there is n being able to change the settings but makes an interesting read for the geeks amongst us

    havnt even tried to bugger about with mine ..but onterested to find out if u doo
    OH s**t did i say that out loud?

  18. #16
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    I will have a look but doubt I would tapmer with anything. Mind you suppose you could always change it back if ya didnt like new settings etc.
    Cheers
    John

  19. #17
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Here are a few pics of my Zard system

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

  20. #18
    Join Date
    08.02.2008
    Location
    euphoria or on a DSV
    Ducati models
    does a settee count ?
    Posts
    1,768
    bonny lookin set up that
    OH s**t did i say that out loud?

  21. #19
    Join Date
    21.10.2008
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Ducati models
    HyperS, 696, Guzz Stelvio
    Posts
    19
    Aye am well happy wi it. Removed passenger pegs and ordered a pair of carbon heel guards. Seems like a month cant go buy without buying some bling, ordered some red anodised nuts for rear end tonight to. That was just after promising the missus that I was done buying bits for the hyper.
    Took some autosol and a length of string to pipes today and they came up nae bad.
    There are some tool marks on pipes from bending process, a little wet n dry will sort that out, SHINY.

  22. #20
    Join Date
    08.02.2008
    Location
    euphoria or on a DSV
    Ducati models
    does a settee count ?
    Posts
    1,768
    see wen youve got yours polished u can doo mine
    OH s**t did i say that out loud?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Full 50mm Termi system 748-996
    By north996 in forum For Sale/Wanted
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18.12.2008, 10:58 PM
  2. FS. 1098 Full System Race ECU
    By iang27 in forum For Sale/Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16.11.2008, 03:02 PM
  3. mivv suono full system
    By sima07 in forum Technical, Problems, Tips and tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22.10.2008, 10:09 PM
  4. Wanted - Akro Evo Full System For S4r
    By smiler996 in forum For Sale/Wanted
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14.06.2007, 10:54 AM
  5. 1098 with a full 70mm system.
    By BDG in forum Ducati Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29.01.2007, 03:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts